The VCCER Advisory Board is appointed by the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors and comprised
of high-level representatives of the coal, energy and transportation industries, state agencies, and academia.

Barbara Altizer
Executive Director, Education & Outreach
Virginia Coal and Energy Alliance
William L. Blanchfield (Past Chair)
Northrup Grumman - Newport News
Srinath Ekkad
Associate Vice President for Research Programs
Virginia Tech
Pete Diakun
Vice President of Energy Programs
Newport News Ship Building
Dr. J. Mark Estepp
Southwest Virginia Community College
Jerry Grantham
Vice President-Southern Appalachian Division
Range Resources
Bennett Hatfield
President and CEO
Patriot Coal Corporation
Donna Henry
University of Viginia at Wise
C. David Hudgins
Director of Member & External Communications
Old Dominion Electric Cooperative
Michael Karmis (Director)
Virginia Center for Coal and Energy Research
K. Scott Keim (Past Chair)
Cardno MM&A
Scott Kreutzer (Vice Chair)
Vice President--Land
Alpha Natural Resources
David T. Lawson
Vice President -Coal
Norfolk Southern Corporation
James K. Martin
Martin Energy, LLC
A. George Mason
Attorney at Law
George Mason Law Firm, PSC
William Murray
Managing Director of Public Policy
J. Michael Onifer (Chair)
Senior VP - Established Business Units
CNX Gas Company LLC
John Reinhart
CEO/Executive Director
Port of Virginia
Daniel D. Smith (Past Chair)
Norfolk Southern Corporation
Charles G. Snavely
Group President Appalachian Western & Northern Reg
Arch Coal, Inc.
Kevin F. Wall
Executive VP--Operations
Natural Resources Partners Limited Partners
Herbert Wheary (Past Chair)
Public Policy Consultant
Richard A. Wolfe (Past Chair)
Carbonite Corporation